top of page

The group

These Leuven-based “globetrotting artivists” bring an idiosyncratic sound in which there is free experimentation with Afro-latin grooves, Etnic-folk music, reggaeskanks, jazz & rock influences, Balkan gypsy rhythms and a touch of European tears. Urban slang poetry about life-encompassing clichés & visions of worldly themes are ready to stimulate your imagination and transport you to a heartwarming southern folk festival.

Callejero [ka-jee-chee-ro],


I m  busker meeting_ street nerd melting pot confrontation visions of life mestizo world citizenship logriarios losgriarios mestizo · Globetrotter · Artivist    II bnw ·_of the street · street -  *street experience *streetwise*perro ~ stray dog · spontaneous · intercultural · authentic · voluntary · cross-media · personal · idiosyncratic _III ww · being on the road · jamming   IV_  pura vida chido chevere ubqumao!

 

Los Callejeros consists of:

  • 'El Paquito' Frank Mercado Avalos : vocals, quena, gaita and accordion

  • 'El QT' Peter Morris : vocals, guitar, charango

  • 'El Jéfé' Jef Gravez : double bass

  • 'Dr Chaos' Luis Valle Moya : guitar, Jarana and quijada

  • 'El Diablo' Christophe Millet : congas and percussion

  • 'El Doeffe' David Vertongen : drums and percussion

  • 'El Dino' Sam Versweyveld : vocals, trumpet, concha, shruti box

  • 'Danito Morado' Daan Morris : vocals, trombone, mini choir

The story

Los Callejeros is the result of the musical documentary project 'Cara o Moneda' that was shot in Cuba. Cara o Moneda is a cross-cultural documentary that leaves a heartwarming spell. This disarming documentary was promptly selected for 'Docville 2006'.

The project quickly aroused the interest and appreciation of a range of professional musicians. The project and the band Los Callejeros was born.

At the beginning of July 2008 the first CD 'El Camino es el Destino' was released. Selah Sue even got a spot on the CD with a hidden track. Los Callejeros went to Peru to shoot the docu-clip 'Mas Corazon'. This was also the start of their eponymous tour that brought the street atmosphere to the bigger stage. 

In addition to this traditional production, they also decided to tour with a mobile stage. In a creative way they created the possibility to bring their music to the most diverse locations and to meet their audience in a very personal way.

In 2011 there was the release of the second CD 'PRESENTE!' … For this album we collaborated with, among others, the Portuguese 'Terrakota', 'Les Talons Gitans' and the social-artistic project MurgaLova. 

In the autumn it was decided to record a new music video in Barcelona, 'Amourouse'.

During their travels across South America, the group became inspired by the people and sounds they encountered on their path, and the first two albums are clearly the result of this. Taking advantage of the unique Belgian melting pot, new songs were born, which ended up on the third album, 'Ukamao!', released in February 2015.

 

Los Callejeros continues to evolve and their musical journey is far from over. Their upcoming album "Fortuna" promises even more musical highlights. A collection of stories about love, hope and the search for happiness. Get ready for an adventure full of rhythm and emotion.

 

Los Callejeros has already played, among other festivals and venues, @ Colora Festival, Mondihalle, Rootstock, Patersholfeesten, Marktrock, Het Depot, De wereldfeesten, Fiesta Mundial, Soirée tropical, Route Du Soleil (France), Couleur Café, Polé Polé, Vijverfestival, Gitannekesfoor, Outremeuze. Their musical collaborations with other musicians include percussion band Lokomotiv, Xamanek, Alfredo Valiente, Buritaca, Kollasuyu-Ñan, Dirk Timmermans (The Internationals) , Ipiraña, Monterey de Cuba and Sanstilloh from Leuven.

bottom of page

top of page

Le groupe

Ces « globe-trotters artivists » de Louvain nous donnent un son individu. Un cocktail très festif de musiques latino, de reggae, de ska, de rythmes balkaniques teintés de jazz et de rock. Un groupe engagé, poétique, parfois excentrique, des citoyens du monde qui sont prêts à laisser exploser votre fantaisie et à réchauffer vos cœurs.

Callejero [ka-jee-chee-ro],


I (m) musicien ambulant - la rencontre – convictions - creuset de civilisation – métis – artiviste globe-trotter 3194-bb3b-136bad5cf58d_

II (adj.) ceux de la rue – chien errant –spontané – interculturel – authentique – contrariant

III (verbe) être en cours de route   IV (exclamation) pura vida – chido – chevere–ubqumao !

 

Los Callejeros sont :

  • 'El Paquito' Frank Mercado Avalos : chant, quena, gaita et accordéon

  • 'El QT' Peter Morris : chant, guitare, charango

  • 'El Jéfé' Jef Gravez : la contrebasse

  • 'Dr Chaos' Luis Valle Moya : jarana, guitare et quijada

  • 'El Diablo' Christophe Millet : congas et percussions

  • 'El Doeffe' David Vertongen : batterie et percussions

  • 'El Dino' Sam Versweyveld : la trompette, chant, concha et scruti-box

  • 'Danito Morado' Daan Morris : le trombone, chant et clavier

L'histoire

Los Callejeros est le résultat du projet documentaire musical « Cara o Moneda » qui a été tourné à Cuba. Cara o Moneda est un documentaire interculturel qui laisse un charme réconfortant. Ce documentaire désarmant est rapidement sélectionné pour 'Docville 2006'.

Le projet a rapidement suscité l'intérêt et l'appréciation d'un éventail de musiciens professionnels. Le projet et le groupe Los Callejeros sont nés.

Début juillet 2008, le premier CD 'El Camino es el Destino' est sorti. Selah Sue a même obtenu une place sur le CD avec une piste cachée. Los Callejeros est allé au Pérou pour tourner le docu-clip 'Mas Corazon'. C'était aussi le début de leur tournée éponyme qui a amené l'ambiance de la rue sur une plus grande scène. 

En plus de cette production traditionnelle, ils ont également décidé de tourner avec une scène mobile. De manière créative, ils ont créé la possibilité d'amener leur musique dans les endroits les plus divers et de rencontrer leur public d'une manière très personnelle.

En 2011, il y a eu la sortie du deuxième CD 'PRESENTE!' … Pour cet album nous avons collaboré entre autres avec les portugais 'Terrakota', 'Les Talons Gitans' et le projet socio-artistique MurgaLova. 

À l'automne, il a été décidé d'enregistrer un nouveau clip vidéo à Barcelone, "Amourouse".

Au cours de leurs voyages à travers l'Amérique du Sud, le groupe s'est inspiré des gens et des sons qu'ils ont rencontrés sur leur chemin, et les deux premiers albums en sont clairement le résultat. Profitant du melting-pot belge unique, de nouvelles chansons sont nées, qui se sont retrouvées sur le troisième album, 'Ukamao!', sorti en février 2015.

 

Los Callejeros continue d'évoluer et leur voyage musical est loin d'être terminé. Leur prochain album "Fortuna" promet encore plus de temps forts musicaux. Une collection d'histoires sur l'amour, l'espoir et la recherche du bonheur. Préparez-vous pour une aventure pleine de rythme et d'émotion.

 

Los Callejeros a déjà joué, entre autres festivals et salles, @ Colora Festival, Mondihalle, Rootstock, Patersholfeesten, Marktrock, Het Depot, De wereldfeesten, Fiesta Mundial, Soirée tropical, Route Du Soleil (France), Couleur Café, Polé Polé, Vijverfestival , Gitannekesfoor, Outremeuze. Leurs collaborations musicales avec d'autres musiciens incluent le groupe de percussions Lokomotiv, Xamanek, Alfredo Valiente, Buritaca, Kollasuyu-Ñan, Dirk Timmermans (The Internationals), Ipiraña, Monterey de Cuba et Sansstilloh de Louvain.

bottom of page