top of page

The Band

Los Callejeros wants to take everybody on a musical journey to different worlds, inspired by intercultural encounters, both local and international. With their incomparable sound of the world-mestizo beat, these globetrotting artivists will swipe you off your feet in an overwhelming party.

Every callejero adds his own musical identity to the melting pot, freely experimenting with Afro-latin grooves, Etnic-folkmusic, reggaeskanks, jazz and rock, balkan gypsy stuff and a pinch of European tears.

Their urban slang poetry sings about the great clichés of life, social conscience and the great themes of our world in different languages. Los Callejeros has a reputation for being a heart-warming musical surprise.

Callejero [ka-jee-chee-ro],

street musician - encounter - street greaser - melting pot - confrontation - visions on life - mestizo malegria los locos del barrio world citizenship globe-trotter artivist _cc781905 -5cde-3194-bb3b-136bad5cf58d_  II adj - from the street - street - street life - stray dog - spontaneous - intercultural - authentic - from the world - voluntary - cross medial - personal - self-willed the road - to jam   IV excl. · pata de perro – pura vida · chido · chevere · ubqumao!

 

Los Callejeros is:

  • 'El Paquito' Frank Mercado Avalos : vocals, quena, gaita and accordion

  • 'El QT' Peter Morris : vocals, guitar

  • 'El Jéfé' Jef Gravez : double bass

  • 'Dr Chaos' Luis Valle Moya : guitar, jarana and quijada

  • 'El Diablo' Christophe Millet : congas and percussion

  • 'El Doeffe' David Vertongen : drums and percussion

  • 'El Dino' Sam Versweyveld : trumpet, concha, scrutie-box and vocals

  • 'Danito Morado' Daan Morris : trombone, keyboard and vocals

The Story

The band Los Callejeros has its roots in the musical documentary 'Caro o Moneda', shot in Cuba. This heart-warming and endearing culture-bridging documentary was selected for the Docville 2006 documentary festival. The project and its makers stirred enthusiasm among a number of professional musicians and gave birth to the band Los Callejeros.

 Their first album, 'El Camino es el Destino', was released in 2008. Even Selah Sue, a beginning artist at that moment, contributed to the CD with a hidden track. Los Callejeros then went to Peru to shoot the docu-clip 'Mas Corazon'. This kick-started their tour of the same name, bringing their street-vibe to larger stages.

Apart from playing traditional stages, the band decided to tour with a self-managed mobile stage. This allowed them to take their music to wherever their path led them and meet their audiences everywhere in an intimate setting.

2011 saw the release of their second album 'Presente!', including collaborations with the Portuguese band 'Terrakota', Belgian band 'Les Talons Gitans', and the local social-artistic project 'MurgaLova'. And the end of the same year, the band went to Barcelona to record a new music video, 'Amourouse'.

During their travels through South-America, the band was inspired by all people and sounds they met on their road, of which the first two albums bear witness. Later, back in Belgium and taking full advantage of the Belgian melting-pot, new songs emerged, and they ended up on the third album, 'Ukamao!', released in February 2015.

Los Callejeros continues to evolve and their musical journey is far from over. Their upcoming album "Fortuna" promises even more musical highlights. A collection of stories about love, hope and the search for happiness. Get ready for an adventure full of rhythm and emotion.

 

Los Callejeros played, among other festivals and venues, Colora Festival, Mondihalle, Rootstock, Patersholfeesten, Marktrock, Het Depot, De wereldfeesten, Fiesta Mundial, Soirée tropical, Route Du Soleil (France), Couleur Café, Polé Polé, Vijverfestival, Gitannekesfoor, Outremeuse. Their musical collaborations include artists like percussion band Lokomotiv, Xamanek, Alfredo Valiente, Buritaca, Kollasuyu-Ñan, Dirk Timmermans (The Internationals) , Ipiraña, Monterey from Cuba and Sanstilloh from Leuven.

bottom of page

top of page

Le groupe

Los Callejeros veut emmener tout le monde dans un voyage musical vers des mondes différents, inspiré par des rencontres interculturelles, locales et internationales. Avec leur son incomparable du rythme métisse du monde, ces artistes globe-trotters vous feront perdre la tête dans une fête écrasante.

Chaque callejero ajoute sa propre identité musicale au melting-pot, expérimentant librement des grooves afro-latins, de la musique folklorique ethnique, du reggaeskanks, du jazz et du rock, des trucs gitans balkaniques et une pincée de larmes européennes.

Leur poésie d'argot urbain chante les grands clichés de la vie, la conscience sociale et les grands thèmes de notre monde dans différentes langues. Los Callejeros a la réputation d'être une surprise musicale chaleureuse.

Callejero [ka-jee-chee-ro],

musicien de rue - rencontre - graisseur de rue - melting pot - confrontation - visions sur la vie - métis malegria los locos del barrio citoyenneté du monde globe-trotter artiviste -bb3b-136bad5cf58d_II adj - de la rue - rue - vie de la rue - chien errant - spontané - interculturel - authentique - du monde - volontaire - intermédial - personal - self-willed the road - to jam   IV excl. · pata de perro – pura vida · chido · chevere · ubqumao !

 

Los Callejeros c'est :

  • 'El Paquito' Frank Mercado Avalos  : chant, quena, gaita et accordéon

  • 'El QT' Peter Morris  : chant, guitare

  • 'El Jéfé' Jef Gravez  : contrebasse

  • 'Dr Chaos' Luis Valle Moya  : guitare, jarana et quijada

  • 'El Diablo' Christophe Millet  : congas et percussions

  • 'El Doeffe' David Vertongen  : batterie et percussions

  • 'El Dino' Sam Versweyveld  : trompette, conque, scrutateur et voix

  • 'Danito Morado' Daan Morris  : trombone, clavier et voix

L'histoire

Le groupe Los Callejeros trouve ses racines dans le documentaire musical « Caro o Moneda », tourné à Cuba. Ce documentaire bouleversant, touchant et touchant a été sélectionné au festival du documentaire Docville 2006. Le projet et ses créateurs suscitent l'enthousiasme de nombreux musiciens professionnels et donnent naissance au groupe Los Callejeros.

 Leur premier album, 'El Camino es el Destino', est sorti en 2008. Même Selah Sue, une artiste débutante à ce moment-là, a contribué au CD avec une piste cachée. Los Callejeros s'est ensuite rendu au Pérou pour tourner le docu-clip 'Mas Corazon'. Cela a lancé leur tournée du même nom, apportant leur ambiance de rue à de plus grandes scènes.

En plus de jouer sur des scènes traditionnelles, le groupe a décidé de tourner avec une scène mobile autogérée. Cela leur a permis d'emmener leur musique partout où leur chemin les a menés et de rencontrer leur public partout dans un cadre intimiste.

2011 a vu la sortie de leur deuxième album 'Presente!', comprenant des collaborations avec le groupe portugais 'Terrakota', le groupe belge 'Les Talons Gitans' et le projet socio-artistique local 'MurgaLova'. Et à la fin de la même année, le groupe se rend à Barcelone pour enregistrer un nouveau clip, 'Amourouse'.

Au cours de leurs voyages à travers l'Amérique du Sud, le groupe s'est inspiré de toutes les personnes et de tous les sons qu'ils ont rencontrés sur leur route, dont les deux premiers albums en témoignent. Plus tard, de retour en Belgique et profitant pleinement du melting-pot belge, de nouvelles chansons ont émergé, et elles se sont retrouvées sur le troisième album, 'Ukamao !', sorti en février 2015.

Los Callejeros continue d'évoluer et leur voyage musical est loin d'être terminé. Leur prochain album "Fortuna" promet encore plus de temps forts musicaux. Une collection d'histoires sur l'amour, l'espoir et la recherche du bonheur. Préparez-vous pour une aventure pleine de rythme et d'émotion.

 

Los Callejeros a joué, entre autres festivals et salles, Colora Festival, Mondihalle, Rootstock, Patersholfeesten, Marktrock, Het Depot, De wereldfeesten, Fiesta Mundial, Soirée tropical, Route Du Soleil (France), Couleur Café, Polé Polé, Vijverfestival, Gitannekesfoor, Outremeuse. Leurs collaborations musicales incluent des artistes comme le groupe de percussions Lokomotiv, Xamanek, Alfredo Valiente, Buritaca, Kollasuyu-Ñan, Dirk Timmermans (The Internationals), Ipiraña, Monterey de Cuba et Sansstilloh de Louvain.

bottom of page